United States Department of Veterans Affairs
VA MidSouth Healthcare Network

About VISN 9

The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) MidSouth Healthcare Network (VISN 9) is an integrated healthcare delivery system comprised of six Joint Commission accredited medical centers. More than 350,000 Veterans seek care annually at VISN 9 medical centers located in -

There are 266 counties within the MidSouth Healthcare Network covering almost 110,000 square miles.

Approximately 10,000 full-time employees are dedicated to providing area Veterans a full range of quality and cost-effective medical, specialty, psychiatric, and extended care services.


"To care for him who shall have borne the battle and for his widow and his orphan."

These words, spoken by Abraham Lincoln during his Second Inaugural Address, reflect the philosophy and principles that guide VISN 9, and are the focus of VISN 9's endeavors to serve America's Veterans and their families.

Core Values

Because I CARE, I will

...Act with high moral principle. Adhere to the highest professional standards. Maintain the trust and confidence of all with whom I engage.


...Work diligently to serve Veterans and other beneficiaries. Be driven by an earnest belief in VA’s mission. Fulfill my individual responsibilities and organizational responsibilities.


...Be truly Veteran-centric by identifying, fully considering, and appropriately advancing the interests of Veterans and other beneficiaries.


...Treat all those I serve and with whom I work with dignity and respect. Show respect to earn it.


...Strive for the highest quality and continuous improvement. Be thoughtful and decisive in leadership, accountable for my actions, willing to admit mistakes, and rigorous in correcting them.


About VISN 9

About VISN 9 
Joint Commission: Public Notice

VISN 9 Geographic Boundaries